Tags

, , ,

I’ve been exercising on the elliptical for a month now. Twice a day for a total of an hour a day – and I can’t get enough of it.

(to read about how this started see this post:  HERE)

I was thinking about ways one tries to numb one’s emotions and how one ‘pays the bill’ for the different ways to numb.

One way is to try to eat the uncomfortable feelings away. This is the way I’ve been trying to numb myself for my whole life.

The way one pays the bill by eating to produce the numbing effect of feelings is in weight gain and crushing one’s self worth and self value along with huge dollops of shame and guilt.

I’d say that this seems like a very high price to pay for a little bit of numbing.

The way I’ve been getting this numbing lately though is through exercise. The exercise produces numbing is by flooding my body with chemicals like serotonin and the dopamine’s epinephrine and nor-epinephrine which are the ‘feel good’ chemicals.

The price for receiving all these feel good chemicals is a little bit of up front physical discomfort.

I’d say that the price for the second way of getting the numbing effect is far lower than the price for the first way. And to make matters even better, there’s a secondary gain – weight loss to boot.

