(the first post in this series is here:  On Being a Social Outcast  )

*  *  *

How I look at co-dependency:

Co-dependency is an addiction that I have used in place of my dependence on God. When I relate to people in a co-dependent way, I am shifting my dependence – from God – to other people. I’m using other people’s admiration of me to soothe my ‘introject’, instead of getting this soothing directly from God Himself. It seems easier to turn to people rather than toward God. Reaching out to things in this physical world is much easier than having to reach toward the spiritual One who’s big enough to fix anything. When you’re trying to reach for the spiritual world, you have to stretch more to make this connection.

The next post in this series is here:   Addictions and Obsessions I No Longer Practice (Exodus 20:2-4)

