the “book”.

Out of the corner of my eye I spied a little black book laying by itself on the night-stand.  Somehow it turned my gaze. The cover readThe Soul Savers Bible”. This was so strange to see a bible there.  Neither Ron nor I ever read the bible. I didn’t even know I had one in the house let alone that it would be pulled out as if someone had been reading it. With shaking hands I picked it up and opened it at random.  At the top of the page it opened to – there read these words…..

What You Must Do To Be Saved

A ripple went down my spine. It addressed the exact picture I had of drowning and the title seemed to be saying: “We will throw you a life-preserver so that you will not drown – we will save you”.  That got my attention. I began to read.

This is what the book suggested…

 Know that you are truly messed up. You have been doing things you wish you could stop doing but you can’t stop. Relationships have gone sour or are dead. You might even be totally alone and this loneliness is killing you inside. You have burned all your bridges behind you. This is called =sin=. It’s when a person has messed up their life. Everyone deals with this to some extent.

“for all have sinned and fall short”
Romans 3:23

The book asked me …..

Do you think you might be able
to believe this?

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

The book suggested that there was only one way out…

 Believe that God came here to earth 2000 years ago in human flesh as  the man called Jesus to show us how much He loves us and wants to help us get up out of our pain and sin by doing many things; and dieing for us……

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son,
that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

John 3:16

The book again asked me…

Do you think you might be able
to believe this?

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

  That Jesus demonstrated He was God
by doing all kinds of super-natural miracles.

“Jesus of Nazareth, a Man attested by God to you by miracles,
wonders, and signs which God did through Him in your midst,”

Acts 2:22

Again the book asked me…

Do you think you might be able
to believe this?

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

 That Jesus was killed on a cross & died  for us

“to reconcile all things…..on earth or things in heaven,
having made peace through the blood of His cross”

Colossians 1:20

“For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing,
but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.”

1 Corinthians 1:18

Once more the book asked me…

Do you think you might be able
to believe this?

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

 That He was raised back to life on the third day

(and Jesus said)  “The Son of Man is being betrayed into the hands of men.
They will kill Him. And after He is killed, He will rise the third day.”

Mark 9:31

Lastly the book asked me.

Do you think you might be able
to believe this?

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Then it said that if  I could believe all these things were true, I was to get down on my knees and ask Jesus to come into my heart.

To Continue on with this story, click:  HERE

.

.

